My Spiced Pumpkin and Marmalade Cake with a Cream Cheese Topping

I’m back and officially a graduate! I have walked away from Newcastle with some of my favourite memories and amazing friends, I must say I almost did a classic ‘panic’ post grad course just to go back for one more year!! But alas, I think it really is time for me to go out and get that job of my dreams (it’s out there, right? Somebody? PLEASE!?!?!?).  Anyway, in between job hunting, graduating and working I seemed to lose touch with this lovely little blog as well as baking and cooking.  So I vowed this weekend to try out a recipe that’s been flying around my head for some time now – pumpkin and marmalade cake.  DE-LISH!

Image

pumpkin

This recipe makes quite a lot of mix – I had enough for a loaf and about 9 cupcakes!

pumpk

Oh, and I’ve used cup measurements as I can be very scatty about writing down weights and it seems MUCH easier (and will also be more useful to you kids across the pond!), plus I have some gorgeous measuring cups that my sister bought me…cups

For the Cake:

3 cups plain flour

3 eggs

1 can pumpkin (available from waitrose and whole foods)

2 cups soft brown sugar

1 cup caster sugar

250 g butter

1/2 cup marmalade

3 tbsp whole milk

1 tbsp allspice

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

2 tsp baking powder

For the Cream Cheese Icing:

300g icing sugar

150g cream cheese

100g butter

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees c.

This recipe is SO simple, just bung it all in – it will make a gorgeous orange mixture! beat it well and decant into a pre-lined loaf tin and share the rest of the mix among some little cupcake cases.

Image

Stick in the oven – the loaf will need longer than the cupcakes, I would recommend 25 minutes/half an hour – until golden and a clean skewer comes out.

Once cool, beat together the icing ingredients and smother over – top with orange zest if you fancy.

SO MOIST!

🙂

Hx

Leave a comment